Left Menu Right Menu

Board Meeting #17
2012 April 18
10 am - 4 pm
White Stag Room 150

Betsy Wilson, Chair
Jay Starratt, Chair-elect
Drew Harrington, Past Chair
Chris Shaffer, Treasurer (FY11 & 12)
Karen Clay, Secretary (FY11 & 12)
Vickie Hanawalt, Member at Large (FY11 & 12)
Jane Carlin, Member at Large (FY11 & 12)
Christopher Cox, Member at Large (FY12 & 13)
Michelle Bagley, Member at Large (FY12 & 13)
John F. Helmer, Executive Director (ex officio)
Shared ILS Team Working Group Chairs join the Board for the morning agenda and lunch.

Ann Miller (UO), Acquisitions & Cataloging
Bill Kelm (WU), Circulation and Resource Sharing
Bill Jordan (UW), Systems
Dena Hutto (Reed), User Services
Susan Barnes Whyte (Linfield), Communication
Natalie Beach (Chemeketa), Consortia -- by phone
Xan Arch (Reed), Business References

1. Welcome, Introductions, & Agenda Review (Betsy Wilson)

2. Review Shared ILS RFP Process (John F. Helmer)

The RFP has intentionally been kept at a ‘high level’ rather than delving into the details.  We are pleased to have received very strong and useful input from the member institutions.

3. Shared ILS Team Recommendations (John F. Helmer)
Expected outcome: Brief presentation; discussion by Board and Shared ILS Team Working Group Chairs.

The Board and Shared ILS Team Working Group Chairs discussed the SILST final report.

Shared ILS Team Members join the Board for lunch and are then excused for the afternoon agenda.

4. Board discussion and determination of next steps (Betsy Wilson)

Recommendation 1: 
Drew Harrington moved that the Board accept Recommendation #1 of the Shared ILS team and begin negotiations with Ex Libris and III. Seconded by Vickie Hanawalt.
Motion passed unanimously.  (Betsy Wilson recused herself from the vote). 

Recommendation #2: 
Betsy Wilson moved that the Board accept Recommendation #2 of the Shared ILS Team to continue work on the functional aspects of the shared ILS and to communicate with member libraries and relevant Alliance teams.  Seconded by Chris Shaffer.

Motion passed unanimously.

5. Negotiation Team (Betsy Wilson)
Expected outcome: determination of the charge and membership of a Negotiation Team

The Negotiation team will be chaired by John Helmer, with members Deb Dancik, Chris Shaffer, and Bill Jordan
6. Communication (John F. Helmer)
Expected outcome: review expected communication regarding the Board's decisions
  • Vendors
  • Council
  • Membership
  • Sister consortia
  • External audience

The Board established a schedule for communicating with various interested parties.

7. Discussion as time allows (Betsy Wilson)
  • Alliance role with regard to Shared ILS and non-members
  • Shared ILS funding models
  • Shared ILS at the Summer Meeting

The Board discussed sister consortia, potential funding models, and how to include the Shared ILS initiative at the Summer Meeting.

Reminder re. next Board and Council meetings:
May 9 - GoToMeeting Call
June 15 - In-person, University of Washington - Tower Room, Allen Library (FY13 Board members are invited)
July 11-13 Summer Meeting (Council Meeting July 12-13)